Title Image

A PPR OC HE 2019

A PPR OC HE 2019

Galerie Eric Mouchet is pleased to participate for the third time to a ppr oc he, an innovative salon devoted to experimentation of the photographic medium, with the exhibition Escape from Paradise by artist Benoît Jeannet, laureate of the Foam Award.

Benoît Jeannet sees his work as a polymorphic approach to photography. He diverts original applications by using an experimental approach to the photographic act. He considers his darkroom and photography as a malleable tool, mixing media and building a specic visual language to express the movements of the world he bears witness to. Benoît Jeannet is presenting the Escape from Paradise series at a ppr oc he, a research project in which the Pacific is transformed into an iconography observation lab.

Escape from Paradise is a study of Hawaiian iconography and myths. In the photographer’s studio, the island became an observation lab, a microcosm of 20th century history: the Dole Food Company’s plantations, the history of the Hawaiian shirt, the 1944 Chicago Convention, the invention of the atom bomb and the advent of the Internet, among others, have shaped our mental perception of Hawaii. These popular imagery components act as a form of diluted propaganda object. The series combines contemporary artifacts to form an installation, as a sort of visual archaeology of the future.

 

Benoît Jeannet graduated from Vevey Photography School (2012) and then from the ECAL University of Art and Design in Lausanne (2015) and holds a master’s degree in visual arts from HEAD Geneva University of Art and Design (2019). He was awarded the Broncolor Light Award at Vevey’s Festival Images in 2019 for his series Escape from Paradise. His work has been shown in numerous exhibitions in France and abroad, including at the Festival Images, Vevey, Jimei × Arles Photo festival, Jimei (China), Foam Museum, Amsterdam and the Rencontres de la photographie, Arles.

Title Image

A PPR OC HE

A PPR OC HE

Lauréat du Foam Talents 2020, Benoît Jeannet présente Escape from Paradise avec la Galerie Eric Mouchet au salon A PPR OC HE dédié à l’expérimentation du médium photographique.

Benoît Jeannet perçoit son travail comme une approche polymorphe de la photographie. Il dévie les utilisations originales en pratiquant une recherche expérimentale de l’acte photographique. Considérant son laboratoire et la photographie comme outil malléable, il mélange les supports et construit un langage visuel spécifique afin d’exprimer les mouvements du monde dont il est témoin.

Pour A PPR OC HE, Benoît Jeannet expose la série Escape from Paradise, projet de recherche dans lequel le Pacifique se transpose en laboratoire d’observation iconographique. Escape from Paradise présente une étude de l’iconographie et des mythes hawaïens. Dans le studio du photographe, l’île devient un microcosme de l’histoire du XXe siècle : les plantations de la Dole Food Company, l’histoire de la chemise hawaïenne, la convention de 1944 à Chicago, l’invention de la bombe atomique et l’avènement d’internet ont, entre autres, façonné notre perception mentale de l’archipel des Hawaii. Ces
éléments d’imagerie populaire fonctionnent alors comme des sortes d’objets de propagande édulcorés. La série assemble des artefacts contemporains dans le but de créer une installation, comme une sorte d’archéologie visuelle du futur. Diplômé de la Vevey Photography School (2012) puis de l’ECAL University of Art and Design de Lausanne (2015) et d’un master en arts visuels à l’HEAD Geneva University of Art and Design (2019), Benoît Jeannet est lauréat du Prix Broncolor light Price du Festival Images Vevey en 2019 pour sa série Escape from Paradise. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses
– expositions en France et à l’étranger notamment au Festival Images, Vevey, au Jimei × Arles Photo festival, Jimei (Chine), au Foam Museum, Amsterdam ou encore aux Rencontres de la photographie, Arles.